The Basic Course

Student Resources 2022

Course Evaluation

Click here to download the 2022 Basic Course evaluation form.

Please Note: the course evaluation helps us and the IEDC improve the course each year.  Your candid and detailed feedback is very much appreciated!

 

Course Documents & Links
Speaker Bios, Recordings, & Slides

Please check this section regularly as information and links for each presentation are added.

Student List
Agness Mondoka Student Western New Mexico University mondokaagness@gmail.com Virtual
Brian Garcia VP Business Development Mesilla Valley Economic Development Alliance (MVEDA) brian@mveda.com Virtual
Daniel Ryan Student Western New Mexico University danielr.ryan@gmail.com In Person
Doreen Avila Executive Assistant NM Economic Development Partnership davila@nmpartnership.com In Person
Eric Ghahate Statewide Disaster Recovery Coordinator NM Economic Development Department eric.ghahate@state.nm.us Virtual
Harry O'Callaghan Student Western New Mexico University harryo_c@hotmail.co.uk In Person
Holly Kelley Business Development Coordinator New Mexico Tourism Department holly.kelley@state.nm.us Virtual
JessicaLyn Robles Director, Business Development Mesilla Valley Economic Development Alliance jessicalyn@mveda.com Virtual
Jodi Diaz Executive Director Roosevelt County Community Development Corporation jodi.diaz@portales.com In Person
Kristi Apodaca Clinic Coordinator Hidalgo Medical Services kapodaca@hmsnm.org In Person
Kristina Ortiz Clerk-Treasurer City of Bayard cityclerk@cityofbayardnm.com In Person
Laura Phelps Community Development Manager Freeport-McMoRan lphelps@fmi.com In Person
Lazius Brown Student Western New Mexico University laziusbrown@gmail.com In Person
Lisa Brenner ​​Research Specialist Sandoval Economic Alliance Lisa@sea-nm.com In Person
Marc Scoggin Business Finance Specialist NM Economic Development Department marcanthony.scoggin@state.nm.us In Person
Marcus Hanson General Manager and Student Gila/Mimbres Community Radio KURU 89.1 FM Silver City and WNMU mhanson1445@gmail.com In Person
Maria Quintero BSAD 489/589 - Economic Development Western New Mexico University mquintero@wnmu.edu Virtual
Marisela Rodriguez Student Western New Mexico University marisela.rodriguez@wnmu.edu In Person
Miriam Hughes Student Western New Mexico University miriamhughes6154@gmail.com In Person
Raelynn Aimee Student Western New Mexico University raelynnaimee333@gmail.com In Person
Stephen Lindsey Student Western New Mexico University lindseys1@wnmu.edu In Person
Steven Chavira Economic Development Specialist/Executive Officer Workforce & Economic Development Alliance of Grant County (NM) steve@gcweda.org In Person
Teresa Carrasco Teresa Carrasco Western New Mexico University carrascot@wnmu.edu In Person
Todd Resch Executive Director of Secondary C&I Rio Rancho Public Schools todd.resch@rrps.net In Person
Valerie Placencio Student Western New Mexico University vplacencio@wnmu.edu Virtual
Presenter List
Perspectives & Strategic Planning Mark Lautman, CEcD, FM, HLM Principal, Lautman Economic Architecture, LLC 505.818.8218 mark@marklautman.com
Understanding Your Community & Community Development Noreen Scott, CEcD, FM, HLM Managing Member, New Mexico Economic Catalyst Foundation 505.710.7172 noreen.scott73@gmail.com
Managing an EDO Rep. Patty Lundstrom, CEcD New Mexico House of Representatives, District 9 - Chair of the House Appropriations and Finance Committees 505.722.2980 patty@gallupedc.com
NMEDD Plan & Execution Alicia Keyes Cabinet Secretary, State of New Mexico, NM Economic Development Department 505.827.0305 Alicia.Keyes@state.nm.us
Community Assessment Panel Kirstin Keller Executive Director, Middle Rio Grande Economic Development Assoc. 575.517.0310 kirstin.keller@hotmail.com
Business Retention and Expansion Eric Canada CEO, Blane, Canada Ltd. 630.462.9222 ecanada@blanecanada.com
Business Attraction & Research and Statistics Danielle Casey, CEcD, EDFP President at Albuquerque Economic Development 970.214.7345 dcasey@abq.org
Border Activity Jerry Pacheco Executive Director, International Business Accelerator 575.589.2200 jerry@nmbia.org
Small Business & Entrepreneurship Stephen Lindsey Western New Mexico University 575.654.6068 lindseys1@wnmu.edu
Workforce Development Panel Jerry Schalow President / CEO, Rio Rancho Regional Chamber Of Commerce 505.892.1533 jerry@rrrcc.org
Workforce Development Panel Pat Vanderpool, CEcD, FM EDFP Executive Director, Greater Tucumcari Economic Development Corporation 575.815.9552 patvanderpool@gmail.com
Finance Mark Barbash Founder and Director, Ohio Economic Development Institute 614.774.7599 mark.barbash@gmail.com
Financing Deals Johanna Nelson, CEcD Strategic Program Development Coordinator for NM Economic Develpment Department 505.469.6204 Johanna.Nelson@state.nm.us
Financing Deals Deborah Burns CEO, investUS Managing Partner, InvestUS Opportunity Fund 505.264.9845 dburns@investusfund.com
Real Estate Jim Smith, CCIM, SIOR First Vice President, CBRE 505.837.4923 jsmith@cbre.com
Marketing Aaron Brossoit CEO, Golden Shovel Agency & PlaceVR 320.980.4658 abrossoit@goldenshovelagency.com
Ethics Miguel A. Vicens Associate Professor of Finance, WNMU 575.538.6633 Miguel.Vicens@wnmu.edu
Visitor Driven Economic Development Jen Schroer, MBA Cabinet Secretary - NM Tourism Department 505.827.7382 Jen.Schroer@state.nm.us

Directors & Advisors

NoreenScott2
Noreen Scott
CEcD, FM, HLM
Course Director noreen.scott73@gmail.com 505.710.7172
MarkLautman8
Mark Lautman
CEcD, FM, HLM
Course Director mark@marklautman.com 505.818.8218
JS-headshot-2
John Sharp
Course Advisor sharp@sharpinformatics.com 505.710.1370
Sarah1
Sarah Crichlow
Course Administrator sarah@thecelab.org 702.340.1400

Made possible through support from our Sponsors:

We'd Love to Hear from You

Send Us a Message

Do you have a question about upcoming courses or want to get involved as an instructor or board member?  Let us know!

Please enter your name.
Please enter a message.
icon09-free-img
Reach Us At
505-710-7172

Call For Enquiries

icon08-free-img
Email Us At
info@econdevacademy.com

Send Us A Message

The Basic Course

July 17-21, 2022
Silver City, New Mexico

Scroll to Top